Nostr conversation

← Back

mar avatar
mar
NOTE
One thing I noticed on Nostr is after uploading an image, if I delete the related Nostr note (via a kind:5 delete), the media still remains on the media server, example Nostr Build website .
That creates "orphaned media" that:
Wastes storage
Is no longer referenced anywhere
May be something the user wanted removed
I think media hosts like Nostr Build should push for a NIP (protocol proposal) that defines a way for hosts to:
Be notified when a note is deleted
Know which npub originally used the media
Automatically clean up unreferenced or deleted media
For example I made a draft note and uploaded this Bitcoin picture using Amethyst with media server Nostr Build but I never actually submitted the note.
`https://image. nostr. build/4798c01ec9edef36138fa9153222b7023e46349f5046b7cd1626b8810e926129.jpg`
I deleted the draft and noticed the picture is still on Nostr Builds website forever.
https://media.letsfo.com/images/2025/07/21/nostr-media-servers.webp
#mediaservers
nostr:nprofile1qqsfnz2sqsflkatdssmeztxr90s8xrd7r07xkhfwaa6eu9zkcguljpgprpmhxue69uhkc6t8dp6xu6twvaex2mrp0yhxxmmdqyv8wumn8ghj7am9d33k7mt99ehx7um5wgh8w6twv5q3kamnwvaz7tmwdaehgu3wwphhyar9d4hkuetjduhxxmmdh047hg
Edited

Replies

Loading replies…

Total views 0